Seminole County 4-h’ers Honored With I Dare You Leadership Award

Posted on: 11/3/2003


Martha Wolff from Winter Park, Olivia Allman from Winter Springs, Heather Orlando from Orlando and Josiah Davis from Apopka, Florida have been awarded the national I Dare You Leadership Award in recognition of personal integrity, balanced living and potential for leadership. The honor was presented by Shelda Wilkens at their award ceremonies held at the Annual 4-H Awards Program on September 5, 2003.

The I Dare You Leadership Award is presented each year by the American Youth Foundation (AYF) in cooperation with principals, counselors, county 4-H agents, church groups and other organizations across the country. The award was first offered in 1941 by the late William H. Danforth, founder of the Ralston Purina company in St. Louis, who challenged young people to achieve their highest potential and to influence others through lives of service. The award takes its name from the book, I Dare You! written by Danforth, in which he commends the balanced life of mental, physical, social and spiritual development as the backbone of leadership.

In addition to a certificate of recognition, each recipient received a copy of Danforth’s inspirational book, I Dare You! and a scholarship opportunity to attend AYF’s Leadership Conference located in Michigan.

Over 7,000 schools, 4-H programs and other organizations take part in this I Dare You >Leadership Award Program yearly.

In 1924 Danforth helped establish the American Youth Foundation, (AYF) a national, not-for-profit youth development organization with headquarters in St. Louis, Missouri and regional centers in Michigan and New Hampshire. For more information about the I Dare You Leadership Award and the AYF, you may write to: I Dare You Department, 2331 Hampton Avenue, St. Louis, MO 63139. Phone at (314) 646-6155 or visit the website at

Media Contact:
County Manager's Office
1101 East First Street
Sanford, FL 32771
Phone: (407) 665-7212
Fax: (407) 665-7958